Review: The Five Love Languages

The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman

Non-Fiction. Published 1992.

Read: January 2013, 203 pages


Book Blurb:

Skillful communication is within your grasp. While love is a many splendored thing, it is sometimes a very confusing thing, too. And as people come in all varieties, shapes, and sizes, so do their choices of personal expressions of love. But more often than not, the giver and the receiver express love in two different ways. Dr. Chapman identifies these and guides you towards a better understanding of your unique languages of love. Learn to speak and understand your mate’s love language, and in no time you will be able to effectively love and truly feel loved in return.


The Five Love Languages was enjoyable and insightful. It offers a guide to specific and personal ways people express their love. Everyone has different needs and when they aren’t met it’s hard for others to reciprocate love. Dr. Chapman insists that speaking the love language of your mate will even rekindle a relationship that appears to be broken beyond repair. I recommend this book to all who are seeking to improve their relationships with others. At times the book is wordy and technical, but the author adds many relatable examples of real couples to illustrate his points.


We all have unique preferences when it comes to expressing and receiving love. Dr. Chapman lays out what each love language is and how to identify which category a personal falls in to. Your love language is the way that you most feel loved and cared for. The problem is most people know how they want to be loved, but that doesn’t tend to align with how their partner wants to be loved. You have to learn to speak your partner’s love language. The five love languages are:

  1. Words Of Affirmation: Encouraging words, verbal compliments, kind words, appreciation, humble words, admiration
  2. Quality Time: Togetherness, focused attention, quality conversation, listening, expressing emotions, scheduled activities
  3. Gifts: Purchased gifts, physical presence, made gifts
  4. Acts Of Service: Doing something for your partner that you know they would like for you to do
  5. Physical Touch: Holding, intimacy


Requests give direction to love, but demands stop the flow of love. -p92

Love doesn’t erase the past, but it makes the future different. -p130

Is it possible to love someone whom you hate? -p147


Filed under Book Reviews

5 responses to “Review: The Five Love Languages

  1. That’s a great story! Glad I’m not the only one who does stuff like that.

  2. rohan7things

    Very interesting! Sounds like this book can help people communicate more effectively with each other and reduce frustration in relationships 🙂


  3. Yes, it’s a great schema to work from and identify the needs of others. Thanks for your comment!

  4. Excellent post. Keep posting such kind of info on your page.
    Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hey there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally recommend to my friends.
    I am confident they will be benefited from this web site.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s